D.C.–Should I stay or should I go?

Living in a tourist trap

116 days to decide if I will make D.C. my home.

There have been a lot more people (and a lot more strollers) on the Metro lately. Tourist season is upon us. Having to fight my way onto the Blue/Orange line at Metro Center has made me think about something I hadn’t yet factored into my decision: could I live in a city that is a huge tourist destination?

On one hand, it can be overwhelming. There have been huge lines at my normally sleepy Metro stop, Grosvenor/Strathmore.

Normally, I'm the only one at my stop on a Saturday morning.

It’s harder than usual to find a seat on the train. Out-of-towners tend to stand left on the escalators. And Metro stations near tourist destinations are packed. Take this video for example (I shot it while getting off the Red Line at Metro Center when the cherry blossoms were in full bloom):

But on the other hand…

I kind of like it. I’ve never lived in a city that people from out of town actually wanted to visit. In Milwaukee, everyone you meet on the street grew up there. And, as for St. Louis, well…

I like it when tourists ask me for directions. As a Midwesterner, I don’t mind if my train is full of them—they’re friendly. And every time I see the crowds I’m reminded that I live in a really cool place that people want to travel to.

April 12, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment